Berlin Food Week: The most delicious week of the year.

Berlin turns into a food-capital.

Sommelier Jan Hugel inside the Food Clash Canteen.

Action kitchen: experiencing cooking firsthand.

The house of food in Kaufhaus Jahndorf.

TAsk

To fill with life and filet

At the beginning there was only a name – and the idea to initiate a food week in the heart of Berlin. It was our job to develop a concept as diverse as a five-course-meal that could find its way into the streets. In our food laboratory, we collaborated a basic recipe for the event platform, seasoned the name with contents and heated up the brand. In addition to the conception, we were also responsible for graphics, program curation, the event itself, and communication.

STRATEGy aND IDEa

Turning Berlin into the capital of foodies

When we started the concept for the Berlin Food Week in 2013, the Berlin food scene was beginning to heat up. The restaurant industry was becoming increasingly international, new hotspots opened on a weekly basis, and street food markets became a permanent fixture in the weekend lives of Berlin natives and tourists alike. Eating out became the new going out. But there was one thing still missing – a platform for innovative restaurants, creative food start-ups, and dedicated food-activists to meet and mingle. A stage for all the people who were passionate about nutrition and wanted to declare to the world: Come and eat in this city!

The goal of the Berlin food week was to demonstrate the overwhelming diversity of Berlin’s food scene in just one week. It was our responsibility to connect as many protagonists and activists as possible: star cooks, manufactures, street food cooks, food activists, and last but not least producers. Additionally, we also made it our mission to integrate sponsors such as Miele, Metro, Fissler, and Pilsner Urquell effectively.

Program

The menu of the berlin food week

In the Food Clash Canteen, up to six well-renowned cooks serve a individually curated menu to 180 guests – for six nights in a row. Each night is inspired by a different theme with individual cooks creating courses for the final menu. The unique dinner is accompanied by German wine – selected and presented by hand-picked sommeliers.

At the House of Food, the Berlin Food Week gives 10 protagonists and activists alike the opportunity to showcase their talent and spoil visitors with signature dishes in the Restaurant Street. The Späti Deluxe is proudly the biggest of its kind – treating attendees to samples and high-quality products. Last but not least, the Aktionsküche enables curious guests to partake in workshops hosted by experts in the field about butter, pasta, and sausages.

With the Stadtmenü, the Berlin Food Week is not only present throughout the entire city, but invites Berlin natives and tourists to join: 50 restaurants interpret the theme “Krautwende” and offer guests their special menu for a week.

At the Berlin Food Night, five Berlin food-activists curate unique meals using nothing but kitchen scraps. Under the theme “Leftover Cookings” potato and onion peels as well as cheese curds and bone marrow are put to use in a sinfully delicious manner.

At the Food Porn Awards, mouthwatering food photography is being honored in various categories. The winner photos will subsequently be exhibited at the Berlin BASE_camp.

Across town, at the Miele Gallery location, advanced workshops teach new techniques and textures to create a one-of-a-kind dinner.

Partner events, like the Gastro-Gründerpreis, the B2B conference Next Generation Food, newcomer-event Adegga WineMarket, and the Food Blog Awards complete the eight-days long program.

Communication Services and INdustry Knowledge

What we are Well-versed in

For the Berlin Food Week, we developed contents and the program, initiated collaboration, guided media- as well as influencer-relations, and supervised live communication. Especially clients such as Fissler, Gerolsteiner, and Ramazzotti rely on our food expertise.

Michael Hetzinger

+49 30 34 996 443

More Cases

Berlin Food Week: Die leckerste Woche des Jahres.

Berlin wird zur Food-Metropole.

Das Menü mal anders.

Sommelier Jan Hugel in der Food Clash Canteen.

Actionküche: Kochen hautnah miterleben.

Das House of Food im Kraftwerk Berlin.

Aufgabe

Mit Fleisch und Leben füllen

Am Anfang gab es nur den Namen. Und die Idee, eine Food Week in Berlin zu initiieren. Unser Job war es, dafür ein mehrgängiges Konzept-Menü zu entwickeln und auf die Straße zu bringen. In unserem „Food-Labor“ haben wir das Grundrezept der Veranstaltungsplattform entwickelt, den Namen mit Inhalten gespickt und den Markenkern auf Temperatur gebracht. Neben der Konzeption waren wir auch für die Umsetzung in Grafik, Programm-Kuration, Event und Kommunikation verantwortlich.

STRATEGIE UND IDEE

Berlin AUF DEM WEG ZUR Food-Metropole

Als wir 2013 mit dem Konzept für die Berlin Food Week starteten, fing es in der Berliner Food-Szene gerade richtig zu brodeln an. Die Restaurantszene wurde internationler, wöchentlich öffneten neue Hotspots, Streetfoodmärkte wurden zum festen Bestandteil des Wochenendprogramms von Berlinern und Touristen aus der ganzen Welt. Essen wurde zum neuen Ausgehen. Es fehlte eine Plattform, die innovative Restaurants, kreative Food-Start-Ups und engagierte Food-Aktivisten zusammenbringt – eine Bühne für alle Menschen, die sich leidenschaftlich mit Ernährung beschäftigen und in die Welt hinausrufen: Leute, esst in dieser Stadt!

Die Berlin Food Week hat das Ziel, in einer Woche die gesamte Vielfalt der Berliner Food-Szene abzubilden. Unsere Arbeit bestand darin, möglichst viele  Protagonisten und Akteure zusammen zu bringen:  Sterneköche, Manufakturen, Streetfood-Köche, Food-Aktivisten und Produzenten – und Partner-Unternehmen wie Miele, Mastercard, Metro, Fissler und Pilsner Urquell sinnvoll zu integrieren.

Programm

DAS MENÜ DER BERLIN FOOD WEEK

In der Food Clash Canteen servieren an sechs Abenden bis zu sechs renommierte Köche ein Menü für bis zu 180 Gäste. Jeder Abend steht unter einem anderen Motto, jeder Koch kreiert dazu einen Gang. Durch den Abend und die Weine junger deutscher Winzer führt je ein Sommelier als Gastgeber.

Mit dem House of Food bietet die Berlin Food Week verschiedensten Akteuren die Möglichkeit sich zu präsentieren und verwöhnt die Besucher in der Restaurant Street mit Signature Dishes von 10 Berliner Gastronomen. Der Späti Deluxe ist der wohl grösste Späti Berlins mit hochwertigen Produkten zum Probieren und Mitnehmen und in der Actionküche stellen die Gäste in stündlich stattfindenden Workshops Butter, Pasta oder Wurst mit Berliner Profis her.

Mit dem Stadtmenü ist die Berlin Food Week in der ganzen Stadt sichtbar und erlebbar: 50 Restaurants interpretieren das Motto „Krautwende“ und bieten eine Woche lang ihr Menü an.

Die Berlin Food Night folgt dem Prinzip des „Leftover Cookings“: Fünf Berliner Food-Akteure kochen mit Zutaten, die eher als Abfall gelten – Kartoffel- und Zwiebelschalen finden hier ebenso Verwendung wie Käserinde und Knochenmark.

Beim den Food Porn Awards werden außergewöhnlich gute Foodbilder in unterschiedlichen Kategorien prämiert. Ausgestellt werden die Gewinnerbilder im Berliner BASE_camp.

Am Standort der Miele Gallery werden vor allem Fortgeschrittenen Workshops zu Techniken und Texturen angeboten und ausgefallene Dinner veranstaltet.

Partner-Events wie der Gastro-Gründerpreis, die B2B-Konferenz Next Generation Food, der Adegga WineMarket, der zum ersten Mal in Berlin gastiert, und die Food Blog Awards komplettieren das 8-tägige Programm.

KOMMUNIKATIONSLEISTUNGEN UND BRANCHENWISSEN

DAMIT KENNEN WIR UNS AUS

Für die Berlin Food Week entwickeln wir Inhalte und Programm, initiieren Kollaborationen und steuern Media- und Influencer-Relations sowie die Live-Kommunikation. Besonders Kunden wie Fissler, Gerolsteiner und Ramazzotti nutzen unsere Food Expertise.

Michael Hetzinger

+49 30 34 996 443

Weitere Cases